News Flash


Posted on: January 6, 2021


Toy Drive Distribution Day 2020 (3)

Citizens in Douglas and Coffee County did not allow the COVID-19 pandemic to stop the ability to give during the holiday season.  On Saturday, December 19, 2020, the Community Toy Drive Committee distributed Christmas toys to approximately 400 youth in Douglas and Coffee County.

“Approximately 400 youth were on our list this year,” says Mayor Tony Paulk.  “We were able to give toys to every single one of these kids because of community support and that says a lot about our Douglas and Coffee County citizens.”

Special thanks to CSRA Probation Services, Southwire, Douglas Police Department, Douglas Fire Department, City of Douglas, Douglas Lions Club, Walmart Store, Walmart Distribution Center, and citizens for their support and contribution to this community event.  

Toy Drive Distribution Day 2020 (1)Photo of children with toys from Toy Drive

Photo 1 - Toy Drive Distribution Day 2020

2020 Community Toy Drive Members (Back Row L-R) Casey Wright (DFD Fire Chief), Shane Edmisten (DPD Chief of Police) Rachel Clement (CSRA Probation Services), Blondale Thomas (City of Douglas), Carol Goodman (City of Douglas), Dale Merritt (DFD Captain), Logan Agon (DFD Firefighter), Tyler Green (DFD Firefighter), and Dana Carver (DFD Engineer) (Front Row L-R) Brantly Anderson (DFD Fire Inspector), Bailey Lott, Jerome Perkins (DPD Captain), Corey Martin (DFD Firefighter), Jesse Music (DFD Firefighter), Aaron Schultz (DFD Engineer) Committee members not pictured: Patrick West (DPD Community Relations Officer), Sandy Sharpe (Southwire), Angie Ragsdale (Southwire), Shirley Ross (DFD Administrative Assistant) and Bradley Lott.

Facebook Twitter Email